League of Legends: This Is How Tiers Work

League of Legends: This Is How Tiers Work

Tiers are your Challengermode skill level. The number of Tiers can vary depending on how many players are playing.

What are Tiers?

Tiers can be described as divisions or segments that represent the skill range for a particular game. Based on Challengermode games (e.g. in a tournament) as well as relative to other Challengermode players.

There are currently 8 lol tiers for League of Legends and 7 Tiers for CS:GO. Dota 2 has 5 Tiers. As there is a limit to the number of players who can reach the top tier, the number of Tiers may increase slightly.

Tier 1 is the lowest, while Tier 8 (currently), is the highest. The Roman numerals I, II, IV, VI, VII and VIII are used to identify the Tiers.

You can enter ranked tournaments based on your Tier. These tournaments have larger prize pools, but restrictions on who can play. Players in lower Tiers can play with players of the same skill level and vice versa, for players at higher Tiers.

If a tournament has a minimum Tier 1 and maximum Tier 3, it would mean that only players ranked in Tier 1 or 2 will be allowed to play. That tournament is not open to Tier 4 and higher players.

How to Get a Tier

Challengermode allows you to play 5 games and go from Unranked to a Tier.

The skill rating will improve the more you play and against more people. Don’t be discouraged if the Tier doesn’t reflect your actual skill level. You’ll likely get ranked up again quickly after playing more tournaments and games.

Only tournaments and matchmaking games (challenges), will be considered “games”. Matches against other Challengermode players will not count as a “game”. Your Tier rank does not include the LoL/Dota 2 Daily Ladder, or public CSGO servers hosted at Challengermode.

Why Tiers are worth the investment

Fairer tournaments and games: Tiers allow you to enter into tournaments that are restricted to certain players/teams.

Larger prizes: Ranked tournaments offer bigger prize pools to reward players who invest in Challengermode or in becoming better players.

A rank is a step towards your esports career.


If I am rank X in-game, should I not be in a higher/lower Tier in Challengermode?

Your rank on Challengermode will be calculated based upon the matches you played against Challengermode players. It may differ from other games and platforms.

My friend is Tier 4 and I am Tier 2. Can we play in a tournament to determine Tier 3?

Each member of the team must be in the permitted Tier range for that tournament. If one of your teammates or friends is unable to enter, you can still join unranked tournaments.

PUBG has no Tiers.

Battle Royale games can be played against multiple opponents in one game, rather than going head-to-head. Therefore, the ranking system has to be different. In the future, PUBG will have tiers.

LoL Tier List Methodology

Our algorithm was developed by LoL experts. However, we don’t manually curate the League tier lists so that we don’t introduce bias. Instead, we use an advanced algorithm to determine each champion’s place in the LoL tier list. This algorithm is based on actual performance by millions experienced players. Our champion tier list will give you the best quality recommendations.

After analyzing the data, we have identified the most important factors for winning each champion position. We then weight our algorithm differently for each role. Our analysis takes into account many factors other than win rates. For example, ADC recommendations are biased towards champions that deal more damage. Support recommendations consider damage less. Our League tier list ranks jungle champions who can counter split and jungle better than those who have difficulty going solo. We do not include the lowest performers in any role to keep our champion tier list small.

Our LoL tier lists are based solely on Gold through Challenger-ranked matches. This means that our God Tier champions, when they are mastered in their roles, are the best. When choosing which champions to spend time with and improve upon, why not focus on the ELO tiers? To make long-term gains and substantial improvements to your League of Legends rank, use our LoL tier listing!

Champion types

As of April 4, 2017, League of Legends has 136 champions. League of Legends has a variety of champion types. Champions can also be customized by purchasing different items and equipping different masteries and runes before each game. The most important difference between champions is how much damage they deal. Some champions deal mostly physical damage which can be resisted with the armor stat. Other champions deal more magic damage which can be resisted using the magic resistance stat. Hybrid champions are those that deal both magical and physical damage. They can choose to focus on one or the other, making it difficult for others to defend against them. Rare abilities also deal true damage, which cannot be mitigated by armor or magic resistance. Riot Games classified all champions into one of six types to assist beginners. Each class is also divided into two to three subclasses for differentiation.

Leave a Reply